Chase Kammerer Earns Top Honor at Men's Basketball Banquet
Senior Chase Kammerer

April 12, 2014

Senior Chase Kammerer was awarded the team's top honor Saturday night at the Air Force men's basketball awards banquet, held at the Colorado Springs Marriott Hotel. Kammerer won the Bob Spear Award, given to the student-athlete that is outstanding in all areas of the Academy - academics, athletics and military performance. There is no higher honor for a men's basketball player.

Kammerer, a forward from Montgomery, Texas and the lone senior on the ’13-14 squad, played in 59 career games with all eight of his starts coming this past season. He averaged 1.4 points and 1.8 rebounds this year and posted career-highs of eight points and seven rebounds against VMI at the All-Military Classic.

Junior Kamryn Williams earned the Bob Beckel Most Valuable Player award for the 2013-14 campaign. Williams, a team co-captain from Colorado Springs, led the Falcons in rebounding this year, averaging 6.5 boards per game, the highest average by an Air Force player since Tom Bellairs pulled down 7.3 per game in 2000-01. Williams, who missed seven games early in the season due to an injury, posted three double-doubles during the season, the most by a Falcon in one season in seven years. He also averaged 10.1 points per game and led the squad with 21 blocks this season.

Junior Ethan Michael earned the Cliff Parsons Falcon Award, given to the player that gives 100 percent regardless of their situation and place on the team. Michael, a forward from Toledo, Ohio, played in seven games this season and started the first three of his career. He missed his first two seasons at the Academy after a pair of knee injuries but has come back as one of the most inspirational players on the team. Michael had a career-high five points against Western State and pulled down a career-best four rebounds against UC Riverside and UC Davis. 



Other individual award winners included junior Scott Adler, who won the Rob Marr Sportsmanship Award, and junior Marek Olesinski won the Tim Harris Most Improved Award.

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago