Lyons Named to All-District Team by USBWA
Michael Lyons

March 6, 2012

Air Force guard Michael Lyons has been one of 10 players selected to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-District VIII team. The District VIII team comprises all Division I schools in Wyoming, Utah, Idaho, New Mexico, Colorado, Nevada and Montana.

Lyons, one of four Mountain West players on the team, was named to the all-Mountain West second-team on Monday. He leads the team and is third in the conference in scoring at 15.5 points per game and is fifth in the league in field-goal percentage at 45.8 percent.

The 6-6 junior from Newport News, Va., missed six games earlier this season with a high ankle sprain, but then became the first Air Force player since 1998 to score at least 20 points in three consecutive games. In the last of the three games, he scored 27 points in a 58-56 victory over No. 13 San Diego State, giving Air Force its first win against a top-20 squad in program history.

Weber State's Damian Lillard, who led the nation in scoring for much of the season, was the District VIII Player of the Year, and Tim Miles of Colorado State was the Coach of the Year.

Other MW players honored on the District VIII team included CSU's Wes Eikmeier, UNLV's Mike Moser, and New Mexico's Drew Gordon. Other members of the All-District VIII squad were Will Cherry (Montana), Noah Hartsock (BYU), Lilliard (Weber State), Wendell McKines (New Mexico State), Andre Roberson (Colorado), and Malik Story (Nevada).



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago