Michael Lyons Named Second-Team All-Mountain West

    March 5, 2012

    COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Michael Lyons was named to the all-Mountain West second-team on Monday. The league's eight head coaches, along with a selected media panel, picked the all-conference teams. Lyons is the first Falcon to earn a spot on at least the second team since since Tim Anderson was a second-team selection in 2007-08.

    Lyons, who has appeared in 22 games and started 21 this year, finished the regular season No. 3 in scoring in the MW at 15.5 points per game and fifth in field-goal percentage (45.8%). He was a third-team pick last season.

    San Diego State head coach Steve Fisher earned MW Coach of the Year honors, while the Aztecs' Jamaal Franklin was selected as the Player of the Year. Additionally, Wyoming's JayDee Luster garnered Defensive Player of the Year accolades, UNLV's Mike Moser was selected as the Newcomer of the Year, and TCU teammates Kyan Anderson and Amric Fields were chosen as the Freshman and Sixth Man of the Year, respectively.

    Five student-athletes are repeat selections to the all-Conference list in 2011-12, while the remaining 10 make their first appearance on the team. San Diego State's Jamaal Franklin and UNLV's Mike Moser are unanimous first-team all-Conference picks, while UNLV's Chace Stanback is the only three-time all-MW honoree among the group, earning third-team accolades for the third consecutive season.

    Fisher received his second consecutive MW coaching award after leading the Aztecs to a share of their second-straight Mountain West regular-season crown, and third overall. San Diego State amassed a 10-4 record in Conference play in 2011-12.

    Franklin, a 6-5, 185-pound sophomore guard, led the league with nine double-doubles and a 19.5 scoring average in Mountain West play this season. In addition, the Hawthorne, Calif., native ranked second in free throw percentage (.866), third in rebounding average (9.9) and field goal percentage (.463), seventh in blocked shots (10) and tied for ninth in minutes played per game (34.0). Franklin scored in double figures and recorded at least five rebounds in all 13 of the MW games he played, topping the 20-point mark five times and surpassing 30 points on two occasions. Franklin is the third sophomore to earn MW Player of the Year honors (Air Force's Nick Welch, 2004 and Utah's Andrew Bogut, 2005).

    Luster, a 5-9, 160-pound senior guard from San Diego, Calif., held the opposing MW player he guarded below their 2011-12 season scoring average in 10 of 14 games en route to collecting 10 steals. Offensively, he ranked fifth in the league in assist average (3.7) and contributed 5.1 points per MW game.

    Moser, a 6-8, 210-pound sophomore forward, was one of two players to average a double-double in Conference play this season, ranking second in rebounding (10.2) and eighth in scoring (13.7) average. The Portland, Ore., product led the league in steals per game (2.0) while also ranking third in blocked shots (16) and seventh in field goal percentage (.426).

    Anderson, a 5-11, 175-pound guard from Fort Worth, Texas, was the league's top freshman scorer in MW games this season, ranking 19th in the league with 9.8 points per game. He also averaged 3.1 assists while registering a 1.48 assist-to-turnover ratio against Conference opponents, ranking eighth and seventh in the league, respectively.

    Fields, a 6-9, 210-pound sophomore forward, averaged 9.6 points and 2.6 rebounds off the bench for the Horned Frogs in Conference play in 2011-12. His 9.6 scoring average tied for 20th in the league. Hailing from Oklahoma City, Okla., Fields shot 47.7 percent (51-of-107) from the field, while also tallying 11 assists, seven steals and six blocked shots in MW action.

    (Selected by media and head coaches)
    First-Team All-Mountain West
    Name, Team Cl. Pos. Ht. Wt. City, State
    Wes Eikmeier, Colorado State Jr. G 6-3 168 Fremont, Neb.
    Drew Gordon, New Mexico* Sr. F 6-9 245 San Jose, Calif.
    Jamaal Franklin, San Diego State So. G 6-5 195 Hawthorne, Calif.
    Hank Thorns Jr., TCU* Sr. G 5-9 165 Las Vegas, Nev.
    Mike Moser, UNLV So. F 6-8 210 Portland, Ore.
    Second-Team All-Mountain West
    Michael Lyons, Air Force* Jr. G 6-6 198 Newport News, Va.
    Kendall Williams, New Mexico So. G 6-3 180 Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
    Chase Tapley, San Diego State Jr. G 6-3 195 Sacramento, Calif.
    Anthony Marshall, UNLV Jr. G 6-3 200 Las Vegas, Nev.
    Leonard Washington, Wyoming Jr. F 6-7 235 Lake Charles, La.
    Third-Team All-Mountain West
    Dorian Green, Colorado State Jr. G 6-2 192 Lawrence, Kan.
    Pierce Hornung, Colorado State Jr. F 6-5 210 Arvada, Colo.
    J.R. Cadot, TCU Sr. G 6-5 205 Nassau, Bahamas
    Oscar Bellfield, UNLV* Sr. G 6-2 190 Los Angeles, Calif.
    Chace Stanback, UNLV** Sr. G/F 6-8 215 Los Angeles, Calif.
    All-Defensive Team
    Pierce Hornung, Colorado State Jr. F 6-5 210 Arvada, Colo.
    Tim Shelton, San Diego State Sr. F 6-7 240 Fresno, Calif.
    Anthony Marshall, UNLV Jr G 6-3 200 Las Vegas, Nev.
    Mike Moser, UNLV So. F 6-8 210 Portland, Ore.
    JayDee Luster, Wyoming Sr. G 5-9 160 San Diego, Calif.
    Honorable Mention All-Mountain West
    Anthony Drmic, Fr., G/F, Boise State
    Derrick Marks, Fr., G, Boise State
    Tony Snell, So., G, New Mexico
    Tim Shelton, Sr., F, San Diego State
    Xavier Thames, So., G, San Diego State
    Francisco Cruz, Sr., G, Wyoming
    JayDee Luster, Sr., G, Wyoming
    Player of the Year: Jamaal Franklin, San Diego State
    Defensive Player of the Year: JayDee Luster, Wyoming
    Newcomer of the Year: Mike Moser, UNLV
    Freshman of the Year: Kyan Anderson, TCU
    Sixth Man of the Year: Amric Fields, TCU
    Coach of the Year: Steve Fisher, San Diego State
    *Indicates number of previous all-Conference selections



    Inside Men's Basketball