Five Falcons Earn All-Conference Cross Country Honors
Melissa Fuerst

Oct. 30, 2011

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Five members of the Air Force cross country team earned all-conference honors based on their finishes at the Mountain West Cross Country Championships, the league announced following the Oct. 29 conference meet in Fort Collins, Colo. The five selections are the most since 2006 and the second-most in Academy history.

On the men's side, Junior Jeremy Drenckhahn and senior Jim Walmsley claimed first-team selections with their respective second- and fifth-place finishes. It is the second straight year - and the fifth time since 1999 - that the Falcons have placed two runners on the all-conference first-team. Junior Andrew Quallio and sophomore Isaiah Bragg claimed second-team honors after finishing 12th and 14th, respectively.

Drenckhahn's second-place finish is tied for the best placement by an Air Force runner in Mountain West Conference action. He joined Ben Payne (2003), Nick Wilson (2005) and Justin Tyner (2010) as a conference runner-up, while becoming the youngest Falcon to claim the second-place spot.

Junior Melissa Fuerst became just the fifth member of the women's program to claim all-conference honors, as she finished ninth at the conference meet. Fuerst, who joined Rachel Smith (1999), Kelly Robinson (2004), Nicole Graham (2005) and Katherine Ward (2010) on the all-conference list, posted the Falcons best finish at an MW Championship since Graham placed eighth in 2005 and became just the second to ever finish within the top 10.



It was the first appearance on the all-conference team for all five runners.
Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago