Jeremy Drenckhahn Awarded NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

March 18, 2013

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - Air Force senior runner Jeremy Drenckhahn (Plymouth, Minn.) was named a recipient of the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship for the 2012-2013 fall sports, the NCAA announced today (March 18). Drenckhahn, a member of the Falcons' cross country and track teams for the past four years, is the eighth Academy cross country/track athlete to earn the prestigious honor.

A four-time academic all-conference selection for both cross country and track, Drenckhahn is also on pace for his fourth straight Mountain West Scholar-Athlete distinction in both sports. He is a two-time USTFCCCA All-Academic team member (2010 cross country; 2011 track) and a two-time all-MW selection in cross country. The Sophomore Class Record-holder in the 10,000-meter run, Drenckhahn is currently ranked fourth on the program's all-time standings in the indoor 5000-meter, outdoor 5000-meter and 10,000-meter races.

Drenckhahn joins former Falcons Jim Murphy (1966), Michael Ryan (1970), John Jones (1971), Chris Nelson (1992), Dolly Patel (1996), Shane Rogers (2001) and Kenny Grosselin (2008) as cross country recipients of the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship.

The NCAA awards up to 174 postgraduate scholarships annually, 87 for men and 87 for women. The scholarships are awarded to student-athletes in their final year or intercollegiate athletics competition that excels academically and athletically. The scholarships are one-time, non-renewable grants of $7,500 that can be used for research, books, tuition and other educational expenses at any graduate school.

Created in 1964, NCAA postgraduate scholarships promote and encourage education by rewarding the Association's most accomplished student-athletes.



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago