Falcons Conclude Competition at Rocky Mountain Shootout

    Ally Romanko
    Ally Romanko

    Sept. 29, 2007

    Complete Results

    BOULDER, Colo. - The Air Force cross country "B" team wrapped up competition at the annual Rocky Mountain Shootout in Boulder, Colo., on Saturday, Sept. 29. Sophomore Arthur Grijalva (13th-28:00) paced the men's team to a third-place finish (75 points) in the "Division I Collegiate Team" field, while classmate Ally Romanko (16th-24:06) led the women to a fourth-place team finish (114 points) in the "Division I Collegiate Team" standings.

    All five of the men's scoring runners finished within the top-17, as they crossed the finish line one after the other. Following Grijalva's 13th-place finish, the Falcons finished 14th, 15th, 16th and 17th. Sophomore Ryan Workman clocked a time of 28:17 to finish 14th, while classmate Andy Schweitzer finished 15th in a time of 28:25. Fellow sophomore John Oliphint crossed the finish line in 28:31 to take 16th, while freshman Justin Tyner clocked 28:44 to take 17th.

    Air Force also earned top-25 finishes from freshmen Brian Lane, Kyle Goldsmith, Tyler Stanley and Kyle Southard, as well as sophomore Conor Murphy. Lane and Goldsmith recorded times of 29:26 and 29:27 to take 20th and 21st, respectively, while Murphy clocked a time of 29:47 to take 22nd. Stanley and Southard finished 24th and 25th, behind times of 30:03 and 30:05. Fellow freshman Brad Bauer rounded out the field with a 27th-place time of 30:32.

    Backed by Romanko's 16th-place finish, the women's team also accounted for three more top-25 finishes, while all five scoring runners finished within the top 30. Freshman Rebecca Bodtke made her collegiate debut with a 23rd-place time of 25:25, while classmates Jessie Stimpson and Whitney Beck finished 24th and 25th, respectively with close 26:32 and 26:33 times. Sophomore Sara Juback rounded out the field with a 26th-place time of 27:35.



    Up next on the schedule for the Falcons is the annual Fort Hays Invitational in Hays, Kan., on Saturday, Oct. 6. Action is slated to begin at 10 a.m., on the campus of Fort Hays State.
    Inside Cross Country