Olympic Action Begins Monday for Volunteer Coach Jenny Simpson

    Simpson (AP)
    Simpson (AP)

    Aug. 3, 2012

    LONDON - Air Force volunteer distance coach Jenny Simpson, the reigning world champion in the 1500-meter run, begins competition in that event at the 2012 Olympic Games in London on Monday, Aug. 6. Simpson is joined at the Games by her personal coach Juli Benson, a 1996 Olympian in the 1500-meter run and the head coach of the Air Force cross country team and distance program.

    This is the second Olympics for Simpson, who finished ninth in the 3000-meter steeplechase at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing. She earned her spot on the 2012 Team USA squad after placing third in the 1500-meter event at the U.S. Olympic Track and Field Trials on July 1.

    Track and field competition began today (Friday, Aug. 3) at Olympic Stadium. Simpson opens on Monday with the preliminary round of competition at 11:45 a.m. in London (4:45 a.m. Mountain time). A complete schedule of events for the 1500-meter run is below.

    Complete Schedule for Women's 1500-Meter Run
    Preliminary Round: Monday, August 6 (11:45 a.m. London, 4:45 a.m. MST)
    Semifinal: Wednesday, August 8 (7:45 p.m., London, 12:45 p.m. MST)
    Final: Friday, August 10 (8:55 p.m. London, 1:55 p.m. MST)

     

     

    Inside Track & Field