Meet the Track and Field Newcomers: Air Force Men

July 20, 2010

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. – With the 2010-2011 academic year beginning in less than a month, Air Force track and field head coach Ralph Lindeman announced the members of the incoming freshman class. Last week, introduced the 15 additions to the women’s team. This week, we introduce the 25 members of the men’s newest class.

The Class of 2014 features 10 state champions, as well as two that finished second at their respective state meets and three that participated in, or qualified for, national competitions.

At the national level, Dan Bailey (Cream Ridge, N.J.) earned a top-10 finish in the 5000-meter run at the National Scholastic Indoor Championships, while Jalen Fooster (Marietta, Ga.) finished within the top-15 of the weight throw at that meet. In addition, William Kent (Marietta, Ga.) qualified to the USA Junior National Championships in the hammer throw, but did not compete as the meet fell during the first days of Basic Cadet Training.

Included among the list of state champions are several athletes who have claimed multiple titles at their respective state meet. Spencer Baldwin (Joseph City, Ariz.) won back-to-back titles in both the shot put and discus throw at the Arizona 1A state championships, while Shawn Dubbs (Cripple Creek, Colo.) claimed a pair of titles in the 1600-meter run at the Colorado 2A state meet, while winning the 3200-meter title in 2010. David Ptacek (Allegan, Mich.), a University of Michigan transfer, ran legs of the state championship 4x200-meter and 4x400-meter relay teams, while leading Hamilton High to the Michigan Division II title.

Other state champions include Elliott Beski (Denver, Colo.), who was the Colorado 4A state champion in the pole vault and won the postseason Great Southwest Invitational. Isaiah Bragg (West Liberty, Ohio) claimed the Ohio Division III state championship in the 3200-meter run, while placing second in the 1600-meter run and at the Division III state cross country championships. Nate Bratka (West Liberty, Ohio), an all-district basketball selection, was the Ohio Division III discus champion as a junior.



Cory Engel (Northglenn, Colo.) won the 2008 Colorado 5A state title in the 110-meter hurdles. Tyler Jordan (Ramona, Calif.), named the San Diego Athlete of the Year for Boys’ Track and Field by the San Diego Union-Tribune, won the state title in the high jump. Kyle Frayling (Raytown, Mo.) ran a leg of the Missouri state champion 4x100-meter relay team, while Carson Fugel (Park City, Utah) was a member of the PCHS cross country team that won the state championship.

Matt Caldwell (Centennial, Colo.), one of five Colorado natives on the men’s freshmen roster, finished second in both the 800-meter and 1600-meter races at the state’s 5A championship meet. Alex Lindsey (Rochester, Mich.) ran a leg of the 4x800-meter relay squad that placed second at the Michigan state championships.

Also joining the Falcons for the 2011 season are sprinter Michael Craig (Orrville, Ohio), triple jumper Daniel Funk (Colorado Springs, Colo.), middle distance runner Jake Hawkins (Hampstead, N.H.), decathlete Mikey Lauritzen (Camas, Wash.), sprinter Josh Nielsen (Forest Lake, Minn.), sprinter Matt Nelson (Albuquerque, N.M.), middle distance runner Charles Perkins (Alameda, Calif.), javelin thrower Tim Urista (Roseburg, Ore.), sprinter Jared Weary (San Antonio, Texas) and distance runner Lance Wolfsmith (Morgan Hill, Calif.).

Men’s Track and Field Class of 2014
Dan Bailey (Cream Ridge, N.J. / Christian Brothers Academy)
Spencer Baldwin (Joseph City, Ariz. / Joseph City HS)
Elliott Beski (Denver, Colo. / Mullen HS)
Isaiah Bragg (West Liberty, Ohio / Emmanuel Christian Academy)
Nate Bratka (West Liberty, Ohio / Salem HS)
Matt Caldwell (Centennial, Colo. / Smoky Hill HS)
Michael Craig (Orrville, Ohio / Orrville HS)
Shawn Dubbs (Cripple Creek, Colo. / Cripple Creek-Victor HS)
Cory Engel (Northglenn, Colo. / Northglenn HS)
Jalen Foster (Marietta, Ga. / Marietta HS)
Kyle Frayling (Raytown, Mo. / Raytown South HS)
Carson Fugel (Park City, Utah / Park City HS)
Daniel Funk (Colorado Springs, Colo. / Doherty HS)
Jake Hawkins (Hampstead, N.H. / Pinkerton Academy)
Tyler Jordan (Ramona, Calif. / Romona HS)
William Kent (Marietta, Ga. / Walton HS)
Mikey Lauritzen (Camas, Wash. / Camas HS)
Alex Lindsay (Rochester, Mich. / Rochester Adams HS)
Josh Nielson (Forest Lake, Minn. / home school)
Matt Nelson (Albuquerque, N.M. / Hope Christian HS)
Charles Perkins (Alameda, Calif. / Alameda HS)
David Ptacek (Allegan, Mich. / Hamilton HS)
Tim Urista (Roseburg, Ore. / Douglas HS)
Jared Weary (San Antonio, Texas / Madison HS)
Lance Wolfsmith (Morgan Hill, Calif. / Ann Sobrato HS)

John Sims AF AotW
Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago