Duo Named to Academic All-District Team
Kimber Shealy

May 31, 2012

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. - Air Force seniors Paige Blackburn (Soldotna, Alaska) and Kimber Shealy (Kennesaw, Ga.) were named to the 2011-12 Capital One Academic All-District VII Team for track and field and cross country, the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) announced on Thursday, May 31.

It is the second such selection for Blackburn and Shealy, who were both named to the second team. Blackburn first earned the honor last season, while Shealy was honored with academic all-district distinction in 2010. They became the third and fourth members of the track and field program to earn the honor twice in a career.

Blackburn, the 2012 Mountain West champion in the javelin throw, maintained a 3.50 GPA in civil engineering. She scored for the Falcons in all six throwing events at the indoor and outdoor conference championship meets, earning all-conference honors in the discus and javelin. A 2012 national semifinalist in the discus and javelin, Blackburn set the Academy's weight throw record and ended her career ranked second all-time in the indoor shot put, outdoor shot put, discus throw, hammer throw and javelin throw.

Shealy, who held a 3.76 GPA in history, set the Academy record in the outdoor pole vault with a winning vault of 13'1¾" at the Front Range Classic. In addition to breaking the FRC meet record, Shealy also set became the first athlete since 2002 to break a facility record at the Cadet Outdoor Track and Field Complex. A semifinalist for the 2012 NCAA Outdoor Championships and all-conference indoor selection, Shealy also recorded the second-best indoor clearance in program history at 13'5¾".

To be nominated for Academic All-District honors, a student-athlete must have completed at least one full academic year at their institution, be a significant contributor and carry a cumulative grade point average of 3.30 or higher. Team members are then selected by a vote of the members of CoSIDA within the district. District 7 represents NCAA Division I programs from Colorado, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas and Wyoming.



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago