Air Force Claims Program-Best 16 All-Conference Selections
Jim Walmsley

Feb. 27, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Air Force track and field team received a program-record 16 all-conference selections at the 2012 Mountain West Indoor Track and Field Championships, the league office announced today (Feb. 27). By finishing within the top three of their respective events, 12 individuals (13 events) and three relay teams earned all-MW distinction.

Seniors Jim Walmsley and Bryce Bergman paced the Falcons, as they each garnered a pair of all-conference accolades. Walmsley was the conference champion in both the 3000-meter and 5000-meter races, while Bergman ran on both of the Falcons' MW championship relay teams (distance medley relay, 4x400-meter relay team).

Bergman was joined on the distance medley relay team by sophomore Lance Wolfsmith, sophomore Matt Caldwell and senior Alex Zubey, while senior Manny Smith, junior Anthony Delgado and freshman Jake Spuller ran the first three legs of the 4x400-meter relay.

The Falcons swept the medal podium of the high jump, as freshman Kobi Rex won the event and juniors Zach Wood and Travis Smith finished second and third, respectively. Wood claimed his second career all-conference selection in the high jump, while the Falcons nearly matched the total number of all-MW performers in that event (five).

Air Force also earned two of the top-three finishes in the pole vault and 800-meter run. Junior Cale Simmons won the pole vault and freshman Joey Uhle finished third, while sophomore Alex Lindsay and senior Nick White placed second and third, respectively, in the 800-meter run. It is the fifth straight year that Air Force has earned a top-three finish in the pole vault and the second time in three years that the Falcons have claimed two of the top three spots.



In addition to his all-conference relay honor, Smith claimed an individual all-conference honor after placing third in the 400-meter dash. Junior Michael Tibbs claimed all-league honors in the heptathlon for the second straight year after finishing third.

On the women's side, the conference-winning distance medley relay team of senior Auriele Fain, senior Rachel Thomas, junior Morgan Mosby and junior Melissa Fuerst became the Falcons' first DMR team to earn all-conference accolades since 2003.

The Falcons also earned a pair of all-MW honors from the field, as sophomore Kassie Gurnell was the runner-up in the triple jump and senior Kimber Shealy took third in the pole vault. Gurnell is just the second Falcon to ever medal in the triple jump, while Shealy became the fourth all-conference honoree in the pole vault.

The three all-conference selections for the women's team are tied for the most in program history (2001).

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago