Women's DMR Shatters Academy Record
Morgan Mosby

April 27, 2013

Complete Results

DES MOINES, Iowa - Clocking a time of 11:15.76, the women's distance medley relay team shattered the Academy record during the final day of competition for the Air Force track and field team at the 104th Drake Relays on Saturday, April 27, in Des Moines, Iowa.

The team of senior Morgan Mosby, senior Bethany Gross, junior Annette Eichenberger and senior Melissa Fuerst deleted 11 seconds from the previous program standard that had stood since 2005. The quartet of Mosby, Gross, Eichenberger and Fuerst, which finished fourth in the 13-team "university division" race today at Drake Stadium, also hold the program record in the indoor distance medley relay.

The men's 4x100-meter relay of senior Uzor Udensi, senior Anthony Delgado, sophomore Jake Spuller and junior David Ptacek clocked a season-best time of 40.61 to finish seventh in the "university" finals. The squad, which advanced to the finals after clocking a time of 41.20 during yesterday's preliminary heat, posted the Academy's fastest finish in that relay since1997 and took over fourth-place on the program's all-time standings.

Several field events were also contested today by the Falcons. Senior Brian Ford placed 10th in the discus throw with a toss of 164'4", while sophomore Kobi Rex cleared 6'8" to place 16th in the high jump. Junior Kassie Gurnell collected a 16th-place finish on the women's side, as she recorded a distance of 39'4" in the triple jump.



In Drake Relays' Hy-Vee Cup Standings, which accounted for "university division" placements in the distance medley relay, the sprint medley relay, the 4x100-meter relay, the 4x400-meter relay and the 4x800-meter relay, the men tied for seventh with 11 points and the women tied for 13th with five points.

The Falcons conclude the regular season next Friday (May 3), when they host the Air Force Twilight Open at the Cadet Outdoor Track and Field Complex. The meet, a final tune-up before the conference championships on May 8-11, is slated to begin at 1:30 p.m.

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago