Falcons Claim a Pair of First-Place Finishes at NWU Invitational

Jan. 21, 2011

Complete Results |  Photo Gallery 

LINCOLN, Neb. - Senior Tyler Stanley and freshman Annette Eichenberger won their respective 1000-meter races, as members of the Air Force track and field team opened a weekend of competition at the Nebraska Wesleyan Invitational on Friday, Jan. 21, in Lincoln, Neb. The Falcons accounted for two first-place finishes, as well as two additions to the program's top-10 list.

With a time of 2:29.77, Stanley paced the Falcons to two of the top three spots in the men's 1000-meter race, as freshman Matt Caldwell took third in the non-traditional race with a time of 2:30.63. Air Force was also well represented in the women's race at that distance, as Eichenberger recorded a time of 3:04.35 to place first. Junior Katie Carroll placed third with a time of 3:05.63, while freshman Stephaney Saari finished fifth in 3:06.84.

Sophomore Bethany Gross continued to climb up the Falcons' top 10 standings in the 200-meter dash. In just her second collegiate race, Gross clocked a time of 25.51 to improve her time by .04 and move into third on the program's all-time list.

Freshman Paige Shirley debuted in the Academy's top-10 list, as she cleared a bar of 12'1½". Her distance, which tied for fourth at the meet, matches the fifth-best jump in program history. Shirley's clearance is a personal improvement of nearly two feet.

Junior Sean Herbison was the runner-up in the shot put, with a distance of 51'3½", while sophomore Ted Artz took third in the 800-meter run with a time of 1:56.11.

Air Force earned a pair of top-five finishes in both the men's and women's 600-meter races. Junior Nick White and sophomore Blair O'Bryant finished third (1:21.14) and fourth (1:21.42), respectively, in the men's race, while freshman Tasha Mayne placed third in the women's race with a time of 1:40.70 and junior Rachel Thomas placed fifth in 1:41.16.

The Falcons continue action tomorrow (Jan. 22), when the full squad takes on squads from Alabama (women only), Houston, Missouri, Nebraska and Wichita State at the 2011 adidas Classic.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


Official Site of Air Force Athletics Presented by:
» «