AFA Rifle Program Joins Patriot Rifle Conference

May 22, 2013

U.S. Air Force Academy, Colo. - Members of the intercollegiate rifle community are pleased to announce the establishment of the Patriot Rifle Conference (PRC). Established in 2013, and going into effect starting with the 2013-14 season, charter members in the PRC are the U.S. Air Force Academy, TCU, Ohio State, Nevada, UTEP, and the University of Alaska. To be a member of the PRC, an institution must have a varsity rifle team recognized by the NCAA.

The conference will include head-to-head matches throughout the season, with a conference championship scheduled at Ohio State Feb. 8-9 in Columbus (Smallbore on Saturday, Air Rifle on Sunday). Air Force Academy head coach Launi Meili is the PRC commissioner.

"We are very excited about the Patriot Rifle Conference," said Meili. "The PRC will give our student-athletes a home of their own to compete in with championship matches to look forward to."

Member institutions shall compete at home or away with the other conference schools during one season. Member institutions will reciprocate home and away matches with these schools in the next season. The conference championship will be rotated between member institutions each year.

The purpose of the PRC is to provide its member institutions the benefits of an intercollegiate athletic conference; to promote rifle competition among similar institutions, which provides for matches and championships; promote equal competition through agreed upon conference standards; promote the NCAA Rifle program; enhance the competition for greater media and public exposure; and promote the development of intercollegiate athletics as an integral part of the curriculum of the member institutions.



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago