Air Force Fencing With Several Wins At Falcon Open
Oct. 30, 2017

Results (AskFred) | Results (FencingTime)

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. - Air Force fencing had several strong performances at the Falcon Open this Sat.-Sun., Oct. 28-29. The Falcons took first place in five of the 12 events it competed in over the two-day competition at the Academy’s Center Gym.

The men’s team earned two wins Saturday and the women’s team captured three wins on Sunday.

Sophomore Jordan Griffith won the senior men’s foil and sophomore Jonathan Hsu won the men’s junior foil Sunday.

Griffith led a 1-2-3 sweep by Air Force in the senior men’s foil, going 9-1 in his head-to-head bouts. Freshman Brian Swicegood was second and Hsu tied for third.

Air Force also had second place finishes in the senior men’s epee, senior men’s saber and junior men’s epee. The second place finishes came from sophomore Travis Amsbaugh in the senior men’s epee, freshman Matt Goode in the senior men’s saber and freshman Stephen Kimatian in the junior men’s epee.

On Sunday, the Falcons won both the senior and junior women’s foil event and the senior women’s saber.

Sophomore Leanne Singleton-Comfort went a perfect 8-0 to win the senior women’s saber. Sophomore Allison Wong went 6-0 to win the senior women’s foil and freshman Mackensie Nechanicky went 5-0 to win the junior women’s foil.

The Falcons took the top four spots in the senior women’s foil. Following Wong was Nechanicky in second and freshman Kaitlin Guo and senior Nicole Quattrociocchi tying for third.

Sophomore Helen Landwehr was Air Force’s top performer in the epee events. Landwehr placed sixth in the senior women’s epee and fifth in the junior women’s epee.

Freshman Faith Van Havel led Air Force in the junior women’s saber, taking third place.

Air Force returns to action at the Elite Invitationals, hosted by Ohio State in Columbus, Ohio, from Nov. 4-5.

2017 Falcon Open Results for Air Force

Saturday, Oct. 28

Senior Men’s Epee
2. Travis Amsbaugh
13. Stephen Kimatian
14. Calvin Smith

Senior Men’s Foil
1. Jordan Griffith (9-1)
2. Brian Swicegood
3T. Johnathan Hsu
5. Morgan Geneste

Senior Men’s Saber
2. Matt Goode
3T Nick Pollack
9. Mcfaddin Weishuhn
11. Alex Wang

Junior Men’s Epee
2. Stephen Kimatian
3T. Calvin Smith
5. Travis Amsbaugh

Junior Men’s Foil
1. Jonathan Hsu
2. Brian Swicegood

Junior Men’s Saber
5. Alex Wang

Sunday, Oct. 29

Senior Women’s Epee
6. Helen Landwehr
13. Katelyn Walbridge
15. Jackie Orcutt
18. Adda Lantigua

Senior Women’s Foil
1. Allison Wong
2. Mackensie Nechanicky
3T. Kaitlyn Guo
3T. Nicole Quattrociocchi

Senior Women’s Saber
1. Leanne Singleton-Comfort 
5. Lauren Sides
7. Brenna Chen
8. Adrienne Yoder
11. Thuytien Pham
13. Faith Van Havel

Junior Women’s Epee
5. Helen Landwehr
14. Adda Lantigua

Junior Women’s Foil
1. Mackensie Nechanicky 
2. Allison Wong
3T. Kaitlyn Guo

Junior Women’s Saber
3T. Faith Van Havel
9. Thuytien Pham



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago