Air Force Fencing Dominates Nick Toth Open
Oct. 1, 2017


USAF ACADEMY, Colo. - Air Force fencing opened the 2017-18 season with several strong performances at the Nick Toth Open this Sat.-Sun., Sept. 30-Oct, 1. The Falcons took first place in seven of the 11 events it competed in over the two-day competition at Center Gym.

Seven different Falcons won events over the weekend, including three freshmen making their collegiate debuts.

On the men’s side, freshmen Stephen Kimatian and Brian Swicegood helped the Falcons to a pair of wins in the juniors events. Kimatian won the junior men’s epee and Swicegood won the junior men’s foil.

The Falcons swept the senior events with wins by junior Cameron Sullivan, sophomore Jordan Griffith and freshman Matt Goode. Sullivan won the senior men’s epee, Griffth won the senior men’s foil and Goode won the senior men’s saber.

The Falcon men’s team went 1-2-3 in the foil, as Griffith was followed by Jonathan Lin and Swicegood.

On the women’s side, the Falcons earned wins in both the junior and senior foil events. Sophomore Allison Wong won the women’s junior foil and freshman Mackensie Nechanicky won the women’s senior foil.

The Falcons dominated the foil events, going 1-2-3 in both the junior and senior foil. Wong, Kaitlyn Guo and Nechanicky paced the junior foil. Nechanicky, Wong and Guo went 1-2-3 in the senior foil.

Sophomore Helen Landwehr led the Falcons in the epee events, taking third in the senior women’s epee and fourth in the junior women’s epee.

Sophomore Leanne Singlton-Comfort was the top finisher in the saber event, taking third.

Air Force returns to action Oct. 13-15 at the Div. I/II NAC’s in Anaheim, Calif.

2017 Nick Toth Open Results for Air Force

Saturday, Sept. 30

Junior Men’s Epee
1. Stephen Kimatian
5. Travis Amsbaugh
6. Nick Robison
10. Calvin Smith

Junior Men’s Foil
1. Brian Swicegood
2. Jonathan Hsu

Junior Men’s Saber
11. Alex Wang

Senior Men’s Epee
1. Cameron Sullivan
3. Travis Amsbaugh
8. Stephen Kimatian
11. Calvin Smith
15. Nick Robison

Senior Men’s Foil
1. Jordan Griffith
2. Jonathan Lin
3. Brian Swicegood
6. Jonathan Hsu
8. Morgan Geneste

Senior Men’s Saber
1. Matt Goode
5. Alex Wang
7. Mcfaddin Weishuhn

Sunday, Oct. 1

Junior Women’s Epee
4. Helen Landwehr
14. Riley Graves
15. Adda Lantigua

Junior Women’s Foil
1. Allison Wong
2. Kaitlyn Guo
3. Mackensie Nechanicky

Senior Women’s Epee
3. Helen Landwehr
9. Adda Lantigua
15. Katelyn Walbridge
17. Jackie Orcutt
18. Riley Graves

Senior Women’s Foil
1. Mackensie Nechanicky
2. Allison Wong
3. Kaitlyn Guo
5. Nicole Quattrociocchi.
6. Ellie Ryan

Senior Women’s Saber
3. Leanne Singleton-Comfort
5. Lauren Sides
7. Brenna Chen
10. Adrienne Yoder



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago