Intramural Program

Air Force Academy tradition and values mandate that every cadet must be an athlete. This not only promotes a life-time involvement in athletics and fitness, but also provides cadets the team-building and leadership experiences necessary to succeed in today's Air Force. For this reason, cadets not otherwise engaged in intercollegiate or competitive club athletics participate in the Academy's Intramural Sports Program.

The Intramural Sports Program offers cadets multiple ways to compete both within and beyond the cadet wing. There are 5-6 sports offered throughout the year in which all cadet squadrons field a team. During an 11-game regular season and 4-round post-season held in both the fall and spring semesters, 200 teams comprised of approximately 3,000 cadets face-off in biweekly competition.

The most competitive intramural athletes go on to participate in the Extramural Sports Program. Extramural teams are sent around the country to compete on the Regional and National levels, including a healthy inter-service rivalry with West Point and the Naval Academy.

The Intramural Sports Program is managed by three Athletic Department permanent party personnel while all day-to-day operations are handled by the cadet wing athletic officer and their staff, including a league sports manager for each sport, squadron athletic officer for each squadron, and coach for each team.

At the end of the academic year, one squadron is awarded the Malanaphy Trophy. This award goes to the squadron with the most Malanaphy points earned primarily though contest wins and outstanding leadership.

Photo Gallery



2015 Men's and Women's NIRSA Tournament

The NIRSA Regional Basketball Tournament is held annually at the University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE, consisting of male and female intramural teams from across the country.

Men's Team defeated: University of Wyoming, Nebraska Wesleyan, University of Northern Colorado, Nebraska Omaha, and University of Iowa in the Championship

Women's Team defeated Denver University twice, but lost to tournament Runner-Up Iowa State

Awards: Men's Tournament Champions, Tournament MVP (Wyatt Vander Voort), All Tournament Men's Team (Phillip Mays), All Tournament Women's Team (Emonna Knox)

Photo Gallery


2014 Fall Intramural Championship Results

Flag Football: Winner - Blue Team CS-32

Soccer: Winner - Grey Team CS-24

Softball: Winner - CS-06 (Blue) over CS-25 (White) | Photo Gallery

Ultimate Frisbee: Winner - CS-21 (White) over CS-05 (Blue) | Photo Gallery

Boxing: Photo Gallery



Extramural Program

2014 Fall Extramural Championships vs. Navy | Photo Gallery

Flag Football: Air Force: 25, Navy: 0

Ultimate Frisbee: Air Force: 10, Navy: 7

Soccer: Air Force: 2, Navy: 1

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


Official Site of Air Force Athletics Presented by:
» «