2013 Hall of Fame Inductees (from left to right): Karen Burton (Reeder), Patty Martinez (Gillette), Carlton McDonald, Parke Hinman, Fisher DeBerry, Eric Mack.

Karen Burton (Reeder) is a 1984 graduate and 16-time NCAA Division II All-American in swimming. She won the 1984 NCAA championship in the 400 IM and was a two-time team most valuable player. Her swimming career continued after graduation as she set a world record for swimming the Catalina (Calif.) Channel in 1994 in addition to being the 1996 and 1997 World Series marathon swimming champion. She also completed the English Channel solo swim in 1993 and was a silver medalist in the 1991 World Championships.

Watch Burton Video

Patty Martinez (Gillette) is a 1983 graduate and was a six-time individual NCAA Division II national champion, winning the 400 IM from 1980-83, the 500 freestyle in 1980 and the 1,650 freestyle in 1981. She owns more national individual titles than any other athlete in school history. A 23-time All-American honoree, the three-time team MVP still ranks in the top four at the Academy in four events.

Watch Martinez Video


Carlton McDonald, a 1993 graduate, is one of just five consensus football All-Americans in school history, earning the honor in 1992. A finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation’s top defensive back, he finished second which is the highest finish ever for an Air Force player. He ranks second in school history in career interceptions with 16 and is still the school’s record holder for blocked kicks in a game with three. He is third all-time at the Academy in career blocked kicks with eight.

Watch McDonald Video

Parke Hinman, a 1964 graduate, was the first four-sport lettermen in school history, earning the honors in basketball, football, track and baseball. He won the Academy’s athletic excellence award in 1964 and was the men’s basketball most valuable player in 1963. He ranks in the top 10 all-time at the Academy in the long jump.

Watch Hinman Video


Fisher DeBerry is the winningest coach in school history with a 169-109-1 overall record in his brilliant 23-year career as head coach at the Academy. A 2011 College Football Hall of Fame inductee, DeBerry won three conference championships and led the program to 12 bowl games. He posted a remarkable 35-11 record in Commander-in-Chief’s Trophy games while leading the Academy to 14 of the school’s 18 trophy titles. DeBerry earned conference coach of the year honors three times and national coach of the year honors in 1985 while leading Air Force to a 12-1 record and No. 5 final national ranking.

Watch DeBerry Video

Eric Mack is a 1996 graduate and a six-time conference champion in track and cross country. A three-time All-American in distance events, Mack was the top American finisher while placing third at the 1995 NCAA cross country championships. He is the Academy record-holder in the 3,000- and 5,000-meters and was the Academy’s most valuable male athlete in 1996.  He also won the 5,000-meter run at the U.S. Olympic Festival in 1996.

Watch Mack Video

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago