2007 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Alonzo Babers

Robert Beckel

Col John Clune

Chad Hennings

Michelle Johnson

Brock Strom

Friday, October 19th
Broadmoor Hotel- International Center
Business Dress

6 p.m. cocktails-7 p.m. dinner\$75
Dinner Choices:

Filet Mignon or Vegetarian

Register for the induction ceremony by filling out this form.
Note: If your payment option is by credit card, a representative from the athletic department will call you for your card information, or you may call the athletic department's marketing division at:

First name:

Last name:

Street Address:

City, State:


Phone Number:


Number of Guests Including Yourself:

Seating Requests:

Select Payment Option: Check Credit Card

Meal Type: Filet Mignon Vegetarian

Make checks payable to AFAAF and mail to:
2168 Field House Dr
USAFA, CO 80840

Mr. Alonzo Babers      
Track   -  Class of 1983

  • Academy record holder (400-meter dash, 300-yard dash, 500-yard dash)
  • Two-time NCAA All-American (1983)
  • 1983 Team Most Valuable Player
  • Two-time team outstanding competitor award winner (1981, 1982)
  • Olympic gold medal winner (1984: 400-meter dash, 4x400-meter relay)
  • Competed at the World University Games in 1983
  • Named Southland Corporation Sportsman Of the Year in 1984
  • Named Touchdown Club Military Athlete Of the Year in 1984
  • From January 1999 until retirement, served as USAFA Liaison Officer


Lt Gen (Ret) Robert Beckel
Men's Basketball   -  Class of 1959

  • Helms All-America selection in 1959
  • Served as Cadet Wing Commander
  • Owns AFA's top four single-game scoring performances (50, 48, 47, 46)
  • Ranks fourth on AFA's career scoring list with 1,526 points
  • Winner of AFA's Athletic Leadership Award in 1959
  • Played in the 1959 East-West Shrine All-Star Game
  • 1959 Team Most Valuable Player
  • Commandant of Cadets at USAFA in 1981
  • Flew 313 combat missions in the F-100 in Vietnam
  • Commander, 15th Air Force, responsible for worldwide operation of the Strategic Air Command air refueling tanker force

Col (Ret) John Clune
Administration-Athletic Director (1975-91)

  • Spearheaded AFA's successful move into the Western Athletic Conference in 1980
  • Initiated comprehensive 10-sport women's program in 1976
  • Served as president of National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (1984-85)
  • Served as chairman of the Division 1-A football committee
  • In 1982, moved women's program from AIAW to NCAA Division II level of competition
  • Worked with Air Force Academy Foundation in 1986 to build $4.5 million visitor center
  • Served as president of the College Football Association in 1989
  • Inducted into the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics Hall of Fame
  • Received the Homer C. Rice Award in 1991 for exemplary service to intercollegiate athletics
  • Received the John L. Toner Award for outstanding dedication to college athletics


Mr. Chad Hennings
Football   -  Class of 1988

  • Most celebrated football player in Academy history
  • Consensus All-American and Outland Trophy winner in 1987
  • Touchdown Club college lineman of the year in 1987
  • Named the WAC's defensive player of the decade for the 1980s
  • Selected to play in the Japan Bowl and East-West Shrine game in 1988
  • Inducted into the CoSIDA Academic All-America Hall of Fame in 2006
  • Inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2006
  • Played with Dallas Cowboys for nine seasons, winning three Super Bowl Championships
  • Served in Desert Storm as an A-10 pilot


Brig Gen Michelle Johnson
Basketball   -  Class of 1981

  • School-record holder for career scoring average (17.6) and field goals made (689)
  • Ranks in top five on AFA all-time leading scorer list with 1,706 points
  • Ranks in top five on AFA all-time free throws made (328)
  • Team co-captain, 1979-81
  • Academic All-American (3.91 GPA), 1980-81
  • 1981 Team Most Valuable Player
  • AFA's first female Cadet Wing Commander and first female Rhodes Scholar
  • Inducted into the CoSIDA Academic All-America Hall of Fame in 1995
  • Command pilot with more than 3,600 flying hours in C-141, T41, KC-10, C-17, C-5 and KC-135

Col (Ret) Brock Strom
Football   -  Class of 1959

  • Captained 1958 undefeated football team
  • Consensus football All-American in 1958 at tackle - the Academy's first
  • Inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1985
  • Inducted into the CoSIDA Academic All-America Hall of Fame in 1991
  • Inducted into Colorado Springs Athletic Hall of Fame in 2007
  • Obtained Masters degree from MIT in astronautical engineering
  • Managed a group of engineers verifying Missile Inertial Guidance Performance
  • Flew as a navigator in Vietnam (90 Missions)
  • Obtained Ph.D from Arizona State University in astronautical engineering
  • Served as the Director of Engineering for the Global Positioning System (GPS)
  • Directed the development of the Air Force Space Defense System
Jennifer Hiddink
Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago